Debut album from Delta Deep

Phil Collen of Def Leppard has long been an appreciator and enthusiast of the blues genre and with the help of Rob DeLeo (bassist/Stone Temple Pilots), Forrest Robinson (drummer/TLC, India.Arie, Engelbert Humperdinck, Joe Sample & The Crusaders) and Debbi Blackwell-Cook (who formerly sang background vocals for Michael Buble, Gregory Hines, she also sang background vocals with Luther Vandross before his solo career), Delta Deep as born.  The band recently released it’s debut blues-rock-n-soul self-titled album to great acclaim.

Although Delta Deep has a stunning musical pedigree, the band’s true goal is to create music that revives an appreciation for the blues and the people who originated that music. The band uses their diverse musical background to explore, meld, and showcase a variety of original soulful melodies that merge rock and blues music into a colorful array of unforgettable songs.

Eight of the eleven songs debuted on Delta Deep’s new album were written by Phil, his wife Helen, and Debbi Blackwell-Cook. Their concept-driven approach to songwriting has led to an incredibly diverse record that pulls from influences that range from Robert Johnson to BB King to Led Zeppelin to Billie Holiday to Earth Wind & Fire.  The album also features special guests such as Paul Cook-drums (Sex Pistols) and Simon Laffy-bass (GIRL) on ‘Black Coffee; David Coverdale (Whitesnake) dueting with Debbi Black-Well-Cook on ‘Private Number’, and Collen’s Def Leppard band mate Joe Elliott who duets with Debbi on the classic remake of ‘Mistreated’.  CJ Vanston, who has produced such greats like Tina Turner, Joe Cocker, TOTO, and Tina Turner to name a few, lends his impressive organ playing skills as he special guests on ‘Burnt Sally’.

1. Bang The Lid
2. Whiskey
3. Down In The Delta
4. Treat Her Like Candy
5. Miss Me
6. Burnt Sally
7. Private Number
8. Shuffle Sweet
9. Black Coffee
10. Feelit
11. Mistreated