Fiancé Debut EP 1 Out October 7 On SQE

Fiancé Debut EP 1 Out October 7 On SQE 

 photo credit: Nichole Fusca

“A matrimonial mix of Diiv’s billowy shoegaze and Delorean’s effervescent dreamwave, Fiancé might well be the most exciting band to emerge

 from Delaware in, well, ever.”- NME

“Fiancé have, in the four dreamy, poppy pieces we’ve experienced thus far,

literally done no wrong.” – Dots & Dashes

Listen: “Ivy” via DIY or SoundCloud
Listen: “Era” via Noisey or SoundCloud


Fiancé will release their debut EP, titled EP1, on October 7 via SQE. The EP will be available digitally and on vinyl and can be pre-ordered in the SQE online store.  Fiancé just announced a hometownrecord release show which will take place on September 19 at the Homegrown Cafe in Newark, Delaware. Later this fall, the band will travel to the UK for several shows including a performance at Club NME on October 10.

DIY Magazine in the UK has premiered “Ivy” from the band’s forthcoming EP and said, “they make serene but cutting alternative rock, the kind that lingers in the memory long after it’s gone. Direct and to the point, initial Tame Impala comparisons have been set to one side with their latest track ‘Ivy’, which has more in common with a long ride down the US coast with nothing but stunning scenery for a companion.” Earlier this month, Noisey premiered the EP’s first single Era” and described it as “a song that sounds like a hazy day at the beach that will never escape your memory.” “Era” is also streaming on SoundCloud and available as download at iTunes.

Newark is a small city in Delaware, home to a little more than 30,000 people, a university and a burgeoning music scene. Most notably, though, it’s the birthplace of Fiancé, a four-piece experimental pop group who are bringing their local vibe to a grander level. The band’s members have been friends since grade school, always playing in and out of bands together over the years as they grew up. In January of 2013, Andrew Fusca, Jeff Marvel and Tyler Yoder got together and started a new project they dubbed Fiancé. The idea behind the group was vague, with the only goal to make music together that they all enjoyed. The band’s first song, a surging, static-laced indie rock number called“Division” was released last March and quickly got picked up by several music blogs.

By June, the band had added local Delaware musician Brian Bruce on the drums. Based in a big farmhouse in Newark where the musicians have lived over the past few years, Fiancé have established themselves as a local staple. They helped to cultivate the music scene by hosting parties and shows at their house, highlighting DJ’s and bands from the tri-sate area.

The house also doubles as Fiancé’s recording studio. The musicians wrote the five tracks on their debut EP, titled EP 1, over the course of last summer and fall. Produced by Andrew and engineered by friend Ryan Williams, the entire EP was recorded to quarter inch tape on a Tascam 388 tape machine. The tape adds to the gauzy, fuzzed out aesthetic that threads throughout the songs. Their friend Rachel K. Haines added her vocals to the end of the track “Climb the Stairs.”

The EP opens with the group’s first single, “Era,” a layered, shimmering pop song Andrew and Jeff had initially written for a possible solo project before Fiancé started. “It wasn’t quite finished,” Jeff says. “And the other band members just made it so much better. We’re really proud of it.” “Climb The Stairs,” is a moody rocker that showcases the glimmer of darkness and melancholy in the group’s sensibility.

The group is currently translating the aesthetic on their EP into a full-length album. For them, the EP is a hint at where Fiancé will go next, but not necessarily a complete indication. “Our goal is to write songs that are meaningful to us,” Jeff says. “If our songs can impact other people in a positive way, then that’s great. But our true goals are more selfish than that. We want to write songs that are more honest then anything we’ve done before, ones that resonate with ourselves.”

Fiancé EP1 Track List

2. July
3. Climb The Stairs

5. Another Year

For more info, please visit: